Reach Publishing Sdn. Bhd.
HomeGadgets & GizmosReview: OPPO PM-3 Headphone

Review: OPPO PM-3 Headphone

Review: OPPO PM-3 Headphone

Once upon a time, before OPPO formed its smartphone division, the company was releasing various other consumer electronics under its OPPO Digital division. It is from this division that the OPPO PM-3 headphone came into being. We’ve mentioned this particular headphone in 2015 during out audiophile headphone showdown, but we never did a proper review for it. Well, now that we have the headphones in our offices proper, it’s time we take a good look at the PM-3.

1

CLASSY

If you were to tell me that the PM-3 was designed by Apple, I would actually believe you. The OPPO PM-3 is beautifully designed, featuring a sleek, compact design, making it the perfect pair of headphones when you’re out and about. One other important point to note is that the PM-3 is a closed-back headphone.

MAGNETS GALORE

Besides the uh…”unorthodox” design of the PM-3, OPPO has also used a rather unique piece of tech in this particular pair of headphones: planar magnetic drivers. Planar magnetic drivers function in the same principle to dynamic drivers in that two magnetic fields interact with each other to cause motion.

However, the difference with planar magnetic drivers is that the motion generated would be channelled across a thin, flat film, allowing the force to spread across the diaphragm. Generally speaking, headphones that utilise planar magnetic drivers are huge, which makes the PM-3 size a huge surprise.

SCALED UP

Now that we’ve gotten the looks and tech out of the way, let’s get to the performance. I am happy to say that the PM-3 is a very impressive sounding pair of headphones. Firstly, the PM-3 is a closed-back headphones, which means that the sound is pumped directly into your ear without any outside sound mixing into it like open-back headphones. As such, this also means that sound leak isn’t an issue when it comes to the PM-3.

WORLD OF SOUND

The PM-3’s sound signature has much in common with the sound signature of monitor headphones. What that means is that, for the most part, the highs, mids, and lows of a song is given equal focus. No one part of a song overpowers any other part, allowing you to identify the various instruments that form the music without needing to strain your ears to do so. The bass is surprisingly punchy as well, make it great for people like me who are EDM junkies. While an amplifier isn’t really mandatory to properly use the PM-3, having one would allow the PM-3 to reach its true potential.

A QUESTION OF TASTE

While I personally love how the PM-3 sounds, I’m well aware that the PM-3 isn’t going to impress everyone. So let’s run through some of the flaws that the PM-3 has. For one, while the PM-3 has a decent soundstage, it will not be beating open-back headphones. The other part that people may not like is the monitor-style sound signature. While I like the fact that the PM-3 gives equal emphasis to all sectors of a song, this also has the effect of making it sterile and boring. For some, this boring sound may be fatiguing, meaning you won’t be using the headphones for an extended period of time.

IS THE PRICE RIGHT?

But let’s say that you’re okay with how the PM-3 sounds like, you’re going to need to decide if the PM-3 is worth the price. With a price tag of RM1,699, the OPPO PM-3 is not exactly a budget-level headphone. Just for comparison’s sake, the headphone that I’m currently using, the Audio Technica ATH-M50x, is priced at around the RM850 mark. The PM-3 is considered to be an entry-level audiophile headphone, and as such, it sports a higher than average price.

AUDITORY BLISS

Personally speaking, if I had the discipline to save up some cash, I would buy the PM-3 without any hesitation. For me, the PM-3 is exactly what I look for in a headphone. The compact size and the powerful, balanced sound suits my tastes very well. If you like your music well-rounded and powerful, the PM-3 is a headphone that will make you very happy indeed.

Verdict: A powerfully balanced set of headphones that looks and feels great

Value 8
Performance 10
Design 10
Features 9
Usability 10


Total Score : 9.4

Comments
  • Is there NON-Computer Science MASTER OF SCIENCE courses available in USA colleges for a pupil with pc background?

    02/05/2016
  • What is the greatest software to design websites and blogs?

    02/05/2016
  • I like the valuable information you provide to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and test once more right here regularly. I am somewhat sure I will be informed plenty of new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the following!

    05/05/2016
  • Which program is better and developing and creating an online publication? Joomla or WordPress?

    06/05/2016
  • How much made it happen cost you to start up your website?

    06/05/2016
  • We started creating templates, but I don’t know how to make demonstrations in my Joomla website, meant for my visitors to test them..

    06/05/2016
  • How can i add the shadows to a Joomla template?

    06/05/2016
  • If you like reading a blog, what kind of interesting items that make you enjoy that blog page? Give me your preferred blog links too..

    06/05/2016
  • Ways to reduce the amount of feed head lines in Tumblr?

    08/05/2016
  • I know that there are probably millions of bloggers away there. We also understand that there a of them make money from blogging. Will anyone out there try this, (make money from blogging) and how do they do this?.

    08/05/2016
  • I want to begin a blog written by a fictitious character activities on national politics, current occasions, news etc .. How?.

    09/05/2016
  • Assume that you will work as a computer technician for a company using a large network. You are assigned to determine what is wrong with an employee? s computer and repair it. You suspect that the pc is not properly connected to the network. Explain the fine-tuning steps you will take to test your theory that the computer is definitely not actually or realistically connected to the network, and explain how you would resolve the resolve the various reasons for the computer not connecting to the network..

    09/05/2016
  • I actually wanna start a website about fantasy sports. I have lots of ideas for content..

    09/05/2016
  • What if i a new blog with all the same name as additional blog accidentally? is that legal?

    10/05/2016
  • Copyright — How Can The Week Publication Re-Print Publication Articles?

    10/05/2016
  • I actually is aside of a commitee that is trying to start a clothing company. I are in charge of creating the clothing website because for at the moment you can just order stuff online. Yet I was just wondering how can you start a internet site for a clothes company? What are some good domain name places to register for a domain name..

    10/05/2016
  • How can i use framework or iframe to put facebook or else to blogspot?

    10/05/2016
  • Excellent food blog page on tumblr and I would really like to add a option to make it easy for people to printing my tested recipes. Any help? I have checked out the few places the net has up but they do not seem to be good nor function. Thank you..

    10/05/2016
  • And how perform you get a lot of traffic?.. I wish to make a blog concerning my “adventure” with a little issue people like to call the entertainment sector. I want to consist of photos, experiences tips, and stories is this enough or?? And should i make my upon blog or use something like blogger or flat press?.

    10/05/2016
  • You made some first rate factors there. I seemed on the web for the issue and found most people will associate with along with your website.

    10/05/2016
  • My site is on a remote server, I have replicated all the data files from their remote host machine. How do I today configure MAMP to see this as a regional copy of wordpress and so i can edit it and try out different themes.. Make sure you help. I actually is tugging my curly hair out!.

    11/05/2016
  • Why do copyright holders want to restrict distribution of their particular content to a specific country?

    13/05/2016
  • Is there free of charge software or online data source to keep track of scheduled blog posts? I would also like it to keep track of past and future content. I am trying to prevent creating a spreadsheet in Surpass..

    16/05/2016
  • You made a few good points there. I did a search on the issue and found nearly all people will go along with with your blog.

    16/05/2016
  • I have a Mac and use the most recent version of Firefox. I want the download window to stop popping up every time i save like a picture or something. For instance when i conserve a picture i see in firefox, the down load window appears saying what i’ve downloaded and stuff. How do i get that appear window to stop popping up everytime we save some thing to my computer (like a picture) in Opera? I cannot find anything at all in preferences in chrome either. MAKE SURE YOU HELP!.

    16/05/2016
  • My programmer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on numerous websites for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform. I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    16/05/2016
  • I’m trying to spike my journalistic career and thought that a blog page might be a good idea. But I actually also realize that there are ways to arranged up a paypal accounts attached to the blog for payment to read it or donate. I guess I used to be inspired by the movie Julia and Jules and I want to do it by myself. Any concepts on how to begin?.

    16/05/2016
  • What are some great ideas on teaching innovative writing to kids?

    16/05/2016
  • Your style is very unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.
    Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity,
    Guess I will just bookmark this web site.

    18/05/2016
  • I just bought business program pro, yet I still don’t quite understand how to estimate/compute the start up costs intended for starting a business, in my case an online business in that. Will there be a internet site that can assist me? Any suggestions? Thanks.

    20/05/2016
  • How can you tell if a has copyright content or not?.

    21/05/2016
  • How to start a blog page. Kindly suggest books on the subject?

    21/05/2016
  • Ways to rotate my blog posts repeatedly with a predetermined time span with PHP code?

    21/05/2016

Leave A Comment